Record Release: Mirah

12 Mar

MirahSorry for my absences as of late, life has been a little crazy.  As a result I am a few days late on this one, but the supremely talented Mirah has finally released her first full length of original material since 2004’s “C’mon Miracle”.  The new album, “(a)spera” was released on (surprise, surprise) K Records and has been recieving copious amounts of praise.  Nearly every mention of it I have so far seen has been in a positive light, with most tipping their hats in commendation to her growth both as a lyricist and in the instrumentation of her material.  Enlisting the work of talented producers such as Tucker Martine (Decemberists, Laura Veirs) and Bryce Panic in addition to long time collaborator Phil Elvrum, the album has a scope larger than those of her previous releases and yet manages to remain consistant and unmistakably Mirah.  

I’ve only had the album myself for about a day, so it is a bit too early for my two cents just yet.  Though I will say it is all I have been able to listen to and it so far sounds better than anything I have heard in quite a while.  In fact so far my only negative reaction has been to the album’s artwork.  After a string of wonderfully designed and resonant cover images, this one kindof smacks you in the face.   (a)speraIs it just me or does this scream 1970’s conceptual prog rock.   I cant help but think of Genesis or something else along those lines.  Not thoughts I’m generally inclined to associate with Mirah.  And what on earth is that weird glass structure in front of her?  Call me crazy but I think it was a bad choice.  If you feel differently or that I am a moron please feel free to let me know, I am rather curious to hear other thoughts on the subject.  Anyway, I promise, more posts soon to come and if you haven’t ever heard Mirah’s beautiful voice than take this as your excuse.  To that end here is a video of her performing “Pollen” using the audience as instrumentation.

3 Responses to “Record Release: Mirah”

  1. mith March 13, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I was there in the audience, singing along 🙂

    Did you come with me for that one?

  2. Elyse March 13, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    haha awesome! Sadly I was not with you that night, I think that was the show we wanted to see but failed in the getting there. Definitely need to see another show there with you though.

  3. mith March 20, 2009 at 2:16 am #

    We surely do need to catch a show at some point. I don’t see anything interesting in their schedule, though..

    Also, got (a)spera yesterday (didn’t hear about it until you mentioned it, so thanks!).. listened once so far.. i like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

