Whosawhatsits!

21 Dec

So its a fairly well known fact among my friends that I am a bit of linguistics buff. I point to my attempt to learn 3 languages simultaneously as evidence. At any rate, I have long pondered what on earth english must sound like to someone who doesn’t speak it. It’s a language I am far too familiar with to have any real sense for the abstract sound of it. So I was pretty damn psyched to discover this video from the late 60’s of Italian singer/director/comedian Adriano Celentano singing a song in a made-up language designed to sound like english. To be honest I can’t tell if it is pure gibberish or just totally mixed up words but still, I think it does the job. Plus I’m still not sure which is better, the audio or the video. You be the judge.

Leave a Reply

