New Crush: Fences

23 Oct

After going on an album buying splurge last month and blowing all my cash, I was reminded of the fact that the list of albums to buy never ends.  Top of the list at the moment is the self-titled debut full length of Chris Mansfield’s project Fences.  So far I have heard all of two tracks, “My Girl the Horse” which has been playing on a near constant loop on my ipod, and “Girls with Accents” from the new video.  There is something about the chemistry of this music, something both tender and worn, inviting and distant.  Having not yet heard the album in it’s entirety I haven’t yet been able to codify my impressions into coherent sentences.  So to put it simply, the music is really really good.  In fact, in the process of writing this post I broke down and finally bought the vinyl online, despite my lack of funds I just couldn’t wait any longer.

I’ll keep this post short as I hope to write a proper review of the album within the next few weeks.  But for now it should be noted that this record also marks the debut* of Sara Quin as a producer in her own right.  Obviously the twins Quin have been co-producing their own records for some time now, but this is one of the first times that we’ve been able to see those talents put to use on another artists work.  It’s pretty stellar stuff, the songs sound rich and dense without ever being heavy-handed.

Chris Mansfield has, from what I can tell, been working toward this record for some time and it shows.  Every note is a stunning achievement.  And now I’m going to go listen to the record I just bought…

*Sara Quin also recently produced the debut album for friend and former Northern State MC, Hesta Prynn, it is unclear which was recorded first.
2 Responses to “New Crush: Fences”

  1. mith November 4, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Thanks for this 🙂 album bought and listened to several times in the past few days!

    • Elyse December 15, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Awesome! I dig that album and it’s good to know I’m still feeding you bands one way or another 😉

Leave a Reply

