Merch-Isle: Revel and Riot sets up shop

24 Oct

Going down the rabbit hole of the internet sure has its perks.  Lord knows how I stumbled upon this the other day but it sure as hell wasn’t intentional.  Regardless of the route however I am extremely happy that I managed to find the new site of Revel & Riot just days after its launch. Revel & Riot is a design-house type project that strives to “to promote LGBTQ rights, awareness and equality through new media, graphics, writing, and products on the internet.” The result is articulate and well curated blend of art and activism.

I was so impressed with the level of design that I really shouldn’t have been surprised that the project was co-founded by one Emy Storey, the art director for Tegan and Sara who makes me like their t-shirt catalog better than their music catalog, and is easily my favorite designer.  Emy is joined in this venture by her partner Sarah Fobes, who I suspect is largely responsable for the impressive writing, resources and research that pepper the site.  I for one am very excited to see where this venture goes, though you can bet my wallet is a little worried about all the new wearable Emy Storey designs bound to come out of this.  In classic style a portion of the proceeds from all sales on Revel & Riot will go to benefit groups working for LGBT rights and equality.

It really is a stunning example of community activism through a desire for a cultural aesthetic.  I tend to be of the opinion that more artists, though not all, need to advocate for their beliefs through their work, especially those who have the privilege and the means to do so.  So I can’t help but be inspired when I see direct and thoughtful action taken in the name of art.  If you have some time to check out the site and all that it has to offer, I really can’t recommend it enough. And I’m curious to hear what you think when you come back.  In the meantime I’ll be trying to figure out which shirt I’m going to order with the money I already don’t have.

Leave a Reply

